General Skilled Migration

Applicants can apply for GSM if they have a minimum of 65 points. The points can be claimed for age, qualification, experience, partner skills and so on. To apply for these visa subclass, the applicants need to apply for an EOI and upon receiving the invitation can apply for the permanent visa subclass

There are currently three different visa types under the GSM:

  1. Skilled Independent - subclass 189
  2. Skilled Nominated (by a State Government) -subclass 190
  3. Skilled Word Regional (Provisional) - Subclass 491

Subclass 189 is an independent permanent visa subclass and to apply for this visa subclass; occupations must be listed on the MLTSSL list.

Subclass 190 is a state/territory nominated permanent visa subclass. To apply for this visa subclass, the occupations must be listed on either the MLTSSL and/or STSOL. The applicants have to met the particular state/ territory additional eligibility requirement to receive the invitation. 

Subclass 491 is a provisional visa subclass, which is approved for five years with an option to apply for permanent residence after three years. It can be either nominated by the particular RDA of the state/territory  or sponsored by the eligible family member. To apply for this visa subclass, the occupations can be listed on either the MLTSSL, STSOL, or ROL, except if sponsored by a family member, occupations must be listed on the MLTSSL.

If you are interested in calculating your points and checking your eligibility, please feel free to Contact Us

For more details on GSM visa, watch videos below:

GSM Visa Options

Points System